| the catholic home for your browser

s t a r t   p a g e
start page

c a t h o l i c   t r u t h

d i s c u s s i o n   f o r u m

b o o k r a c k

s m i l e

Doctors of the Church

VATICAN CITY, OCT 21, 1997 (VIS) - When Pope John Paul II proclaimed St. Theresa of Lisieux Doctor of the Church, she became the 33rd person, and the third woman, to be honoured with this title.

For a person to be proclaimed Doctor of the Church, three requisites are necessary, according to Pope Benedict XIV's well-known definition: an eminent doctrine, a remarkable holiness of life and the declaration by the Supreme Pontiff or by a General Council which has met legitimately.

Following is the list of Doctors of the Church, starting with their name(s), the Pope who proclaimed them and the date on which this occurred:

To read or search for articles from the Vatican Information Service, go to the Official Holy See Site. To have the daily VIS news brief sent to you by email, subscribe to the CIN Totus Tuus mailing list at CIN.

Home | Donate! | FAQ | Feedback | About us
All original material, design and compilation ©1996-2007